What to Know
- Go to the Yahoo Delete My Account page and enter your username. Then, follow the prompts to deactivate your account.
- To close a Yahoo Mail Premium account with British Telecommunications (BT), contact BT directly.
- Closing your Yahoo account doesn’t cancel automatic charges associated with your account.
This article explains how to delete a Yahoo e-mail history. The instructions apply to the web browser version of Yahoo Mail .
How to Delete Your Yahoo Mail Account
You can shut down your entire yahoo Mail account and revoke entree to your electronic mail address, remove all your emails, and prevent people from messaging you.
Open the Yahoo Delete User page and enter your username. Click Next .
If you do n’t see an option to cancel your account, and think you might have a BT Yahoo Mail report alternatively, see below. You can recover your disregarded Yahoo Email password if you ‘re not indisputable what it is .
figure your password. If you have an Account Key set up, Yahoo will send a message to your mobile telephone to authenticate you .
Read the text on the page titled “ Before continuing, please consider the adopt information. ” It details what you will lose when you delete your yahoo Mail account. Press Continue delete my account .
- record your electronic mail cover once more into the plain provided .
Select Yes, terminate this account .
You ‘ll know it cultivate if you see a message that reads “ Your report has been deactivated and scheduled for omission. ”
- Press Got it to return to Yahoo ‘s home page .
In some cases, Yahoo wo n’t actually remove everything for up to 180 days, but that depends largely on the area you signed up from. Data connected to a Yahoo Finance Premium score might be kept for three calendar years.
Read more: Episode 128 – “Dis-Kabob-Ulated”
What Does It Mean to Delete a Yahoo Mail Account ?
Deleting a yokel Mail bill means not merely that your emails will be removed and you ‘ll lose access to your report, but you ‘ll besides no longer have access to your My Yahoo settings, your Flickr account and photograph, and other data stored in Yahoo ‘s services .
once you close your yahoo Mail report, anyone who tries to send a message to the electronic mail cover will immediately receive a manner of speaking failure message. To avoid confusion and concern, be certain you tell your friends and contacts that you are about to close your Yahoo Mail account — both from the e-mail address you plan to use in the future ( so they can well reply to reach you ) and from your Yahoo Mail address ( to make certain the message is received ) .
If you ‘re paying for any Yahoo subscription services, remember to cancel these subscriptions beginning to avoid unexpected payments. The like is truthful if you have a Flickr Pro membership.
How to Cancel a BT Yahoo Mail Premium Account
If you got your yahoo Mail account with british Telecommunications ( BT ), you can not cancel the service using the Yahoo Mail report termination page. You can, however, contact BT directly to have your Yahoo Mail Premium account deleted .
Things to Remember
here are some important things to be mindful of when it comes to deleting your yahoo account :
- What Will Happen to My Yahoo Mail User Name and Email Address? Your username and email address will be available for others to use in the future, so they might receive messages meant for you if senders still use your old email address.
- Can I Reactivate a Closed Yahoo Mail Account? Yes, you can reactivate your account even after you’ve marked it for deletion. To reopen a deleted Yahoo Mail account, just log on to the account within 30 days after deleting it. You can do this through the regular Yahoo Mail web page. Once you’ve reactivated the account, you can start getting emails once again, but know that you will not be able to see any emails that were sent to the account while it was closed.
- What Happens to Emails Sent to My Address After I Close My Yahoo Mail Account? In the meantime (starting as soon as you close your account), senders trying to message your deleted Yahoo Mail account’s address will receive a delivery failure message.
The message might say something like this :
SMTP 554 delivery error: dd Sorry your message to ***@yahoo.com cannot be delivered. This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102]. - mta***.mail.***.yahoo.com
however, this message will no farseeing be seen if you reactivate your bill as described above .